Deutscher Krimipreis 2019 Winners

The winners of the 2019 Deutscher Krimipreis, Germany's oldest crime fiction award, have been announced. The Deutscher Krimipreis hs been awarded by the Bochumer Krimi Archiv since 1985.

Winner national:

  • Mexikoring by Simone Buchholz

Runners-up national: 

  • Tankstelle von Courcelles by Matthias Wittekindt
  • Finsterwalde by Max Annas


Winner international:

  • 64 by Hideo Yokoyama

Runners-up international: 

  • Krumme Type, Krumme Type (Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter) by Tom Franklin
  • Blut Salz Wasser (Blood, Salt, Water) by Denise Mina

The official website hasn't been updated with the 2019 winners yet, but Deutschlandfunk Kultur has a nice report as well as an interview with Sonja Hartl, one of the 2019 jurors. Only in German, alas.

ETA: Here is a short video interview with Simone Buchholz about her winning novel Mexikoring, courtesy of NDR Kulturjournal. Also only in German, alas.